top of page
  • The Lodge Space

From Consciousness to Calm: The Transformative Path of Yoga

By Faysal Aberkane

Yoga: A Symphony for the Chakras

Yoga can be seen as a symphony where each posture and exercise plays a note made of chakras, massaging the unconscious mind. Each yoga posture represents a state of consciousness, stimulating the chakras in unique ways. These postures serve as offerings to the gods, or aspects of the unconscious that focus on different qualities.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Outlined in Patanjali's "Yoga Sutras," the eight limbs of yoga provide a structured path toward meditation and balance between body, mind, and spirit:

  1. Yama: Ethical standards (non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence, non-covetousness)

  2. Niyama: Self-discipline (cleanliness, contentment, spiritual austerity, study of sacred scriptures, surrender to a higher power)

  3. Asana: Physical postures (enhancing physical health and stamina, facilitating meditation)

  4. Pranayama: Breath control (calming the mind for meditation)

  5. Pratyahara: Withdrawal of the senses (leading to deeper internal understanding)

  6. Dharana: Concentration (focusing the mind on a single point, object, or thought)

  7. Dhyana: Meditation (uninterrupted flow of concentration)

  8. Samadhi: A state of ecstasy and super consciousness, where the meditator merges with their focus, transcending the self Our brains adapt through the randomness of neuron connections, known as brain plasticity. Neural networks combine deterministic and random elements to process information and generate ideas. Meditation allows for longer neural computations by avoiding immediate decision-making, leading to new ideas. Attention, a limited resource, selects relevant information to solve problems. Naps or meditation can reset this alignment, enhancing focus. Writing down goals ensures continuity in our actions. Carl Jung said that until we make our unconscious conscious, it will direct our lives, and we will call it fate. Self-knowledge through meditation can lead to change and evolution. So, know yourself! Yoga is a powerful practice that combines physical, mental, and spiritual elements to foster self-awareness and personal growth. By engaging with the eight limbs of yoga and utilizing its diverse tools, we can quiet our minds, influence our unconscious, and achieve a harmonious balance in life. Through yoga, we learn to navigate our emotions, build resilience, and embrace the continuous journey of self-improvement.


bottom of page